General Skilled Migration (GSM) visas

The Australian Skilled Migration visa program is for individuals and their families that do not have an offer of employment, or if they do, they would prefer to migrate independently to Australia.

Applicants may also have a skilled occupation that a State or Territory of Australia will nominate them for, or they have a close eligible relative who is able to sponsor them.

Basic Criteria

The threshold criteria for these Skilled Migration visas is as follows;

  • main applicant is under 45 years of age.
  • main applicant and their partner (if applicable) meets the required English language ability for their visa.
  • main applicant has an occupation on the appropriate Skilled Occupation Lists  for the visa that they are applying for.
  • main applicant, and their partner (if applicable), has had a positive skills assessment in a nominated occupation.
  • main applicant passes the points test.
  • main applicant and their dependents meet health and character criteria.

How does an applicant claim points?

The points that are available for the general skilled migration categories can come from:

  • Age
  • English language ability
  • Employment experience – both within Australia and outside Australia
  • Level of education obtained – trade, diploma, degree or Doctorate
  • Nomination by a state or territory
  • Sponsorship by an eligible relative
  • Foreign language ability
  • Partners skills and education
  • Study in Australia

Skilled Visa Options

Applicants who meet the base criteria and wish to lodge an application do so under the SkillSelect process. Applicants outside Australia can consider lodging an application for:

  • Skilled Independent (Subclass 189) Visa
  • Skilled Nominated (Subclass 190) Visa
  • Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) (Subclass 491) Visa

The Subclass 189 and 190 is a permanent residents visa.

The Subclass 491 is a temporary residents visa. It replaced the Subclass 489 visa on 16th November 2019.

The Subclass 491 provides a pathway to permanent residency through the Permanent Residence Skilled Regional (Subclass 191) visa.

This Subclass 191 visa is for people who have lived, worked and studied in designated regional area Australia on a previous eligible visa. The applicant/s must:
  • hold an eligible visa e.g. Subclass 491 visa
  • have lived for at least 3 years and have a taxable income at or above a specific income threshold for at least three years
  • both primary and secondary applicants have complied with the conditions of the eligible visa you have held

General Skilled Migration – always changing …

Skilled migration is always changing. Skills lists get renamed or replaced, occupations get removed or added, states and territories change their priority list on an ongoing basis. If you refer to our Blog you will see a number of posts confirming this.

Are you eligible?

If you would like to discuss these visas or your eligibility please get in touch.

Freephone: 0800 772 0570
Contact Us: Please send your general enquiry using the button below.

Australian immigration Solutions
Skilled Migration
Migration Agents Registration Number