Amendments to recently announced 1st December 2021 changes

Omnicron COVID variant leads to 14 day delay in border reopening

Last week the DHA announced changes to open up the border to eligible visa holders as of 1st December, 2021. The visa holders list included students,  prospective marriage and temporary skill shortage visa holders amongst others.

Given the spread of the new COVID variant the Australian government have announced today that these changes have been temporarily pushed back until 15th December, 2021.

This delay also applies to reopening borders to travellers from Japan & South Korea. Thes were also due to re-open on 1st December.

It follows an announcement on Saturday (27 November, 2021) that the border was closed to any non Australian Citizen, permanent resident or their immediate families, if they have been in a number of African countries where the variant had been detected and spread in the past 14 days.

These countries include South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Malawi and Mozambique.

If you have any questions about a visa application and/or exemptions then please Contact Us.